[Dine-Out] Calgary: Boxwood Cafe

Boxwood is a cute little stand alone restaurant in Central Memorial Park, it’s also the sister restaurant of the River Cafe down in Eau Claire. It’s a great place to go to when the weather is nice and you can sit on the patio. You can people watch while you wait for your food, and the backdrop provided by the park is fantastic.

The Boxwood menu changes daily depending on the available ingredients as they serve local, seasonal, and sustainable foods. They used to post their menu daily on their website, but it seems that they’ve let that fall behind. The last menu on there is from June 13th, 2011.

Doesn’t matter though, I’m sure you will be able to find something that interests you on their menu.

Cute Logo

Their lunch menu largely consists of sandwiches, soups, and salads.

Earl Grey Tea with Milk and Honey

They serve Phil & Sebastian Coffee here. It’s delicious, and it’s what we drink at my office (their office line, 15 Kilos). I definitely recommend having a cup of that when you’re at Boxwood~

Special of the Day

This was the special of the day. It was a (cold) roast beef sandwich with tempura jalapeños and some sort of cheese on a ciabatta. This was a good sandwich, I really liked the tempura jalapeños – they added the perfect amount of crunch and heat to the sandwich. I wasn’t that satisfied with it because it was cold…I really think a roast beef sandwich should be steaming hot,

Innards

We also got a duck egg croissant:

I ❤ Croissants

The croissant had pickled radishes and avocados as well. The avocado wasn’t the freshest, it was brown and spotty in several areas. And as for the duck egg, I was kind of hoping it’d be a salted duck egg, I love the yolks in those suckers. The plain duck egg was lacking something for me. Texturally though, I liked the mushy-ness of the avocado contrasting the crunch of the radishes.

Innards

I’m quite obsessed with changing menus, it’s a great way to try different foods & different preparations. The promise of something different and the relaxing atmosphere of the restaurant definitely makes up for some of the flaws of the food, and I would definitely come back to try their other items!

BOXWOOD CAFE
340 13 Avenue Southwest
Calgary, AB T2R 0W9

Boxwood on Urbanspoon

One Response

  1. […] Big Taste 2012 @ Boxwood. The starter was a quinoa and golden beet cake. This was only so-so, it was good but not great, you […]

Leave a comment