[Dine-Out] Calgary: Borgo Trattoria

The bf and I stumbled across Borgo a couple of weekends ago while walking down 17th, and boy, was it a good find! The interior of the trattoria is gorgeous, the atmosphere was very homey and rustic even though the decorations are very clean and crisp. Borgo was a great place to spend lunch. We had a table right next to the windows, perfect for people watching!

Gorgeous Gorgeous Interior

The bf order a cappuccino, he said it was delicious. I had a sip, it was very strong. So thumbs out for strong coffee drinkers!

Cappucino

I got a decaf latte, it was a bit bitter to my taste, I don’t think I’d get it again…

Decaf Latte

A lot of other tables ordered hot chocolates and the way they serve it is super cute! The steamed milk comes in a cute little glass milk jug, and was served with a separate little bowl filled with actual chunk of chocolates! It’s like a DIY at the table~

The bf ordered the Ciabatta Sandwich with Speck Prosciutto.

Ciabatta Sandwich with Speck Prosciutto

The sandwich came with sauteed broccolini & fontina cheese – the bf said it was a really good, but still nothing compared to Salumi in Seattle though (coming soon)!

I got the Salumeria Bar Board:

Delicious!

You get to choose 3 cheeses & 3 meats for $15.00, I think this is a great price and would definitely come back to have these. I’m not sure if the cheeses and meats change though, I hope so, I would love some type of soft brie cheese.

3 Meats - Prosciutto di Parma, Soppressata, Cotechino

For the meats, I picked Prosciutto di Parma, Soppressata, and Cotechino. I really like how they serve the meat here, the meat is served super thin so it seems like you’re getting a whole mound of it! I like thin slices better because it takes longer to eat. Also, the pickled onions that came with the board (top left) were deeeelicious~

3 Cheeses - Provolone, Piave, Montasio

For the cheese portion, I chose Provolone, Piave, and Montasio. I wasn’t a big fan of any of the cheeses (the provolone was good) because I like softer, more mild cheeses.

Yummy~

All in all, a great lunch, we will definitely go back. I want to go try their dinner menu!

Borgo Trattoria
818 – 16 Avenue Southwest
Calgary, AB T2R 0S9
(403) 245-2202
Borgo Trattoria on Urbanspoon

One Response

  1. […] and is a visual feast. We went after work on a Friday night, but judging by the pictures taken by other bloggers, the place looks gorgeous in natural daylight. The high ceiling creates the impression of a wide […]

Leave a Reply

