[Quick Bites] Calgary: M for Macaron

Macarons, what can I say about these? When I first heard of these way back when I was really really excited to try them. However, when I first had them I wasn’t a big fan. I don’t remember where they were from, but maybe they weren’t made properly? In fact, I distinctly remember having a huge negative impression on this little suckers.

Since that very first time though, I’ve had (better) macarons, and now understand what’s so likable about them if and when they’re made correctly. My favouriate part of a macaron is definately the meringue. I love the chewy, yet melt-in-your-mouth quality of the cookies. It is strangely addicting.

Cute Box ❤ Polka Dots

We received a box of macarons from M for Macaron as a gift. M for Macaron has a stand alone store at Bay 2, 5524 1A Street SW, but you can also get their sweets and treats at the Kingsland Farmers’ Market (where these are from) and the Hillhurst Sunnyside Market (Wednesdays only).

The box came with 6 assorted flavours:

I just love red velvet anything. This was good, the ganache in the middle is crusted with shredded coconut & walnuts.

Red Velvet

This was was probably my least favourite:

Birthday Cake

It was much too sweet. And, truth be told, kind of boring.

The pistachio was good, it had a good strong nutty flavour:

Pistachio

I thought it was mint at first, surprised my taste buds a bit there.

This was definitely my favourite, salt and caramel is just a match made in heaven:

Salty Caramel

This was runner-up for my favourite, earl grey with a berry ganache:

Earl Grey

I’m probably the only person without an a peanut allergy that doesn’t love peanut butter. This was only so-so in my book. The almonds on top is a nice touch though.

Peanut Butter

Played with my food a little:

Stacky Stack Stack

Bf getting annoyed with me because I’m taking too long taking the pictures.

Too cute!

Ok, last one!

Triple-ly cute!

M FOR MACARON
Kingsland Farmers’ Market
7711 Macleod Trail South
Calgary, AB T2H 0M1
(403) 978-9315
M for Macaron on Urbanspoon

2 Responses

  1. Did you have ALL those macarons? I’ve never had them before, so I’m not sure what they’re even suppose to taste like! I guess it’ll depend whether or not I like them in general! 🙂 By the names, I think I’ll enjoy salty caramel the most!

    • I only had half of each one…so only 3! That’s not as gluttonous as 6~ XD

Leave a Reply

