[Dine-Out] Calgary: WURST

I’ve been wanting to go to WURST ever since I heard about it opening. We finally got a chance to go this weekend. When we walked inside, it was not what I had expected. The restaurant was big and roomy, and rustically decorated. I especially love the 2 trees in the dining room, it gives the whole restaurant a very warm feeling.

Pretty Decor~

I love the tables and chairs as well, I wanted to steal it and take it home with me!

Right across from where we were sitting was a huge painting of a pig:

Massive painting of a pig

We ordered off the brunch menu this time, but I can’t wait to go back and try their lunch & dinner menu. Everything on their menu looks really good, and the prices are reasonable as well. I especially want to go back and try their seafood tower, at $32.00 per person, I’d say it’s quite affordable. We asked our waitress, and they said they were still waiting for the towers to come in, so we’ll check back later. Maybe when their patio is opened (they’re hoping for late July), it’d be a nice, relaxing meal to have on a sunny patio~

House-made ketchup that was brought to our table in anticipation for the bf’s fries. The ketchup is quite smokey, the taste of it almost leans towards a barbeque sauce:

House-made Ketchup

The bf ordered “The Mission” sandwich:

“The Mission”

The open-faced sandwich consists of Bratwurst Sausages, Braised Red Cabbage, Fried Egg, Crispy Shallots, and Appenzeller. It’s nice of them to serve it with a little salad even though he chose fries as his side.

Cloose Up!

The fries were really good, they were nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

I got their French Toast, and it was glorious. I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed french toast as much as I did that day. I would recommend everyone that goes there to get this item. It was the perfect blend of savory and sweet. I usually don’t like to order french toast, waffles, crepes, or anything sweet for breakfast, because it is, more often than not, too sweet. Those items, you usually have about half of, and then you’re begging for some salt. I loved the fact that this came with double smoked bacon and shredded Sylvan Star gouda stuffed in the toast. At first I thought the bacon would come on the side, but it was so much better like this. With every bite, you got a taste of sweetness from the blueberry sauce, and then just the right amount of saltiness from the bacon and cheese. Oh, and the texture of the melted cheese is to die for. I could honestly eat this every morning and never get sick of it.

Glorious Glorious French Toast

The french toast also came topped with apple slaw and whipped crème fraiche. The crème fraiche is actually which made me order it in the first place, I’m a sucker for crème fraiche. But…mmm…this was so good, I’m salivating just thinking about it right now…it’ll be hard to try other items of their brunch menu now, because I’ll always want to order this. And, oh man, was this ever filling. I was full half-way through this thing, but I powered through it and ate it all! It was much too good to waste.

I can't wait to go back!
They also have a beer hall downstairs, we poked our head over the banister and it looks like a fun place to go with friends. They have long banquet like tables and lots of beer steins lining the walls - very atmospheric.
WURST
2437 4th Street Southwest 
Calgary, AB T2S 1X5 
(403) 245-2345  

Wurst Restaurant and Beer Hall on Urbanspoon

3 Responses

  1. […] booked a reservation online through OpenTable to dine at Wurst for lunch. In the special request box, I specifically stated that I would be wanting the Big Taste […]

  2. […] even know why I ordered this, I know that I don’t like french toast (unless is stuffed with salty, meaty goodness). Oh I know, I was persuaded by the promise of brioche and crème fraîche. Crème fraîche is […]

  3. […] hate relationship with french toast. I hate french toast but I love it when it’s stuffed with salty goodness. French toast is always a hit or miss for me. For example: awful french toast experience […]

Leave a Reply

