[Dine-Out] Calgary: Overeasy Breakfast

Brunch is probably my favorite meal of the day. Every time I have a choice of eggs & bacon, I always choose it!

Overeasy Breakfast is one of the many brunch places located along Edmonton Trail. I’ve also been to Big Fish and Diner Deluxe, I’m making my way through all the restaurants in Bridgeland! The restaurant itself is very nicely decorated, I especially liked the whimsical chalkboard menu they have on their ceiling.

I almost always get the ‘basic’ breakfast (eggs your-way, meat and potatoes) when I have brunch out but I thought I should try something else this time. I ordered Farmer’s John Delight, it’s a three-egg omelette filled with double smoked bacon, black forest ham, green onions, and field mushrooms. All their omelettes come with herbed potatoes, fresh fruit and toast.

"Omelette"

As you can see from the picture, the eggs are more like scrambled eggs than anything. Saying it’s an omelette is sort of misleading, an omelette should be folded over with the fillings stuffed inside. The potatoes were really good, and I liked that most of their meals come with fresh fruit. I tried to get the accompanying toast substituted for a little bit more potatoes, but they wouldn’t have any of it. I like it when restaurants are more flexible with their menu, I mean, potatoes are waaay cheaper than bread anyways, so why not? I’m trying to cut unnecessary gluten out of my diet, so I just told them not to bring me my toast (why waste it if I’m not going to eat it anyways?). However, restaurants that don’t accommodate simple substitutions like this make me feel jipped.

The bf got this:

Some prosciutto thingie

I can’t find it on their website menu, which by the way, if you decide to go to, I recommend you turn your volume off or to low. They have some “music” that sounds like kitchen background noise on very loud on every single page of their website. Even if you turned the speaker off on the top right of the site, every time you click to go somewhere else, the “music” starts again – it’s quite unpleasant.

Anyways, the bf’s meal consisted of a poached egg on top of your choice of toast, and then topped off with one slice of prosciutto.  There was not enough protein in this meal for him, and I had to give him almost half of my omelette to keep him happy. Soooo…don’t order this if you’re a heavy protein eater, or be ready to order some supplements. However, he really enjoyed the taste of it – there just wasn’t enough to fill his protein quota.

All in all, it was a decent breakfast. I would come back again, but I would avoid the “omelette” section (impostors!).

OVEREASY BREAKFAST
824 Edmonton Trail Northeast
Calgary, AB T2E 3J6
(403) 278-3447

Overeasy Breakfast on Urbanspoon

One Response

  1. […] places won’t let you do that…I would think potatoes are cheaper than bread. Hmmm…I feel like I’ve said this before, lol, am I repeating myself on here already? The classic breakfast, of […]

Leave a Reply

