[Quick Bite] Calgary: Yann Haute Patisserie

Yann Haute Patisserie celebrates Free Macaron Day by giving out free macarons! This is great because:

a) I’m asian = I love free stuff, and
b) I’ve been wanting to try Yann Haute’s yummy baked goods for a while now.

Sooo…awesome!

I was debating between getting the Rose/Lychee (spelled Lychi at Yann Haute = don’t like) or the Earl Grey flavour. I ultimately decided on the:

Rose/Lychee

It tasted really florally – which is to be expected. The lychee also gave it a really perfume-y taste, but it wasn’t bad. I think I’m going to have to go back and try the Earl Grey one next time, in hindsight, I probably should have tried that first because I love love love tea~

The bf had the Banana Avocado flavour, I think it was the special of the day. I had a teeny bite, and didn’t like it. I think anything flavoured like bananas taste like the syrupy medicine we probably all used to get as kids. I really don’t like that, so it’s pretty safe to say that I won’t like anything fake banana flavoured.

We also both got two treats each, but I didn’t get to take a picture of them. The bf shoved his in his mouth so fast I almost didn’t get to try any of his. He got some sort of Coconut/Chocolate Croissant & an Apple Brioche of some sort. And I was eating my pastries throughout the day as my lunch while we grocery shopped, so I didn’t think to take pictures. I got a plain Butter Croissant (yum!) and a Pear & Chocolate Brioche. Both were really good, we’re going to have to go back soon so I can take pictures!

YANN HAUTE PATISSERIE
329 23 Avenue Southwest
Calgary, AB T2S 3C4
(403) 244-8091

 

Yann Haute Patisserie on Urbanspoon

3 Responses

  1. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our pastries!
    Thank you for taking the time to even write about them.

    For our little avocado/banana macaron and all others, we only use REAL fruits and ingredients. Fake banana flavourings are indeed pretty uninteresting!
    Of course, we use only the best ingredients for all our products, organic and as close to our location when possible.

    • Hi Jeraldine & Yann,

      Thanks for the comment. I’m happy to hear that Yann Haute uses real fruits!! It’s probably just my taste-buds then, every time I eat something banana flavoured I’m reminded of that medicine we use to all take as kids!

  2. […] that very first time though, I’ve had (better) macarons, and now understand what’s so likable about them if and when they’re made correctly. My […]

Leave a Reply

