[Dine-Out] Calgary: CHARCUT

The second (and last) Big Taste Calgary restaurant we went to was CHARCUT. I have been wanting to come here for the longest time now. Tried last week, but they were full, so I made sure I got a reservation this week.

I don’t know if my expectations for CHARCUT was too high, but I wasn’t really blown away by it. The 2 weeks prior to dining here, I just constantly read blog reviews about the restaurant, and I got SO excited to try it out, but afterwards, I didn’t really feel like it was that fantastic. Don’t get me wrong, it was delicious, but just not mind-blowing delicious…you know what I mean?

Anyways, I definitely want to come back and try their other food. I especially want to try out their “lunch all at once” menu, got to find someone to go with me during the weekday! Oh, and I definitely want to try their infamous Alley Burger.

Anyways, back to the food. Like at Mango Shiva, we decided to get one Big Taste Menu ($35.00), and order some items off of the regular menu.

The first thing that came out was the Pig Head Mortadella and Brassica Mustard (hand-mixed pork, studded with pistachios and truffles). This was the best mustard I’ve ever had. I usually don’t like mustard, but this, this was fantastic. I even kept it after we were done with the Pig Head Mortadella in case I wanted to smother my other food in it.

The World's Best Mustard

Next item that came out was the Bone Marrow au Gratin with Garlic Brioche Toast & Parsley Salad. This was just so-so, I have definitely had better bone marrow at FARM.

Complete with Escargot & Sea Salt

Next was the Duck Fat Fried Poutine with Cheese Curds and Truffle Gravy. This was yummy, but I mean, how could it not be?

Hellloooo cholesterol!

We also ordered an other item from their House-Made Sausage & Cured Meats Section – the Spicy Coppa Sausage (slow cooked pork shoulder flavoured with cayenne and paprika). I definitely like the Pig Head Mortadella more, but the bf liked this better, I think the spicy part might have won him over.

I smothered some of that delicious mustard on this~

The main that came with the Big Taste Menu was the Butcher Steak. It was good, not over-cooked. I especially liked the mint sauce and the shoe-string potato fries~

Steak

The Big Taste Menu dessert was Preserved Huckleberries in a Jar (local huckleberries layered with cheese cake and graham crackers). It was served on top of old cut-up menus. I was just wondering what they did with the dirty menus (I got oil on the menu while deciding on what additional dessert to get). This is a great way to recycle the old menus AND it looks rustic, bonus points!

Soooo Good~

Now, I pretty much love every type of cheesecake, so of course this was good in my books. But as restaurant cheesecake desserts go, this was one of the best ones I’ve ever had.

We also got the Lemon Pudding with Shortbread Cookies. This isn’t on the menu displayed on their website, but I hope this is a regular item. This had a nice tangy flavour, and the texture was superb! Plus I’m a huge fan of shortbread cookies (buttery goodness).

Must Try Item!

All in all, it was a great meal. I can’t wait to try out their lunch, and their Alley Burger, OH- and their Share Burger!! I will definitely have to go back soon~

CHARCUT ROAST HOUSE
101 899 Centre Street SW
Calgary, AB T2G 1B8
(403) 984-2180

CHARCUT Roast House on Urbanspoon

3 Responses

  1. […] got my mustard (grainy) in the side because I’m still learning to like mustard, thank you CHARCUT! Yellow~ Sammich Little cup of […]

  2. […] to look for a place to eat. The one difficult thing about eating downtown on a Saturday is that most good restaurants are closed during lunch hours. In hindsight, we should have roughed out the extra […]

  3. […] – the one that started it all. Alley Burger. Of the CHARCUT Fame. Garlic-y, delicious […]

Leave a Reply

