[Dine-Out] Calgary: Añejo

So, I’d like to start off by saying that…I don’t like Mexican food. Well, that is, I thought I didn’t like Mexican food. I’ve always been forced to go to places like Julio’s for “Mexican” food but its menu is just full of overpriced fajitas and deep fried platters. Yuck.

BUT. I. LOVE. AÑEJO.

The food there is so fresh and so frigging delicious. I would eat here all the time.

We ordered the guacamole to share. Made table side. Love. Añejo’s guacamole is made with avocado, serrano, jalapeño, onion, tomato, lime, and sea salt.

IMG_2295

Delicious Pile of Green Goodness

IMG_2293

Tortilla Chips

I found the guacamole just a tad bit acidic. Maybe too much lime juice.

We also ordered six tacos to share.

IMG_2296

TACOS

We got two beef short rib, two adobo pork, and two crispy red snapper. All the tacos are filled with picked cabbage, cilantro, red onion, avocado, and fresh jalapeño.

fdafd

Beef

dsfdf

Snapper

The snapper was my favourite with the beef a close second. The beef had a nice spice to it and I really liked the texture. The pork was waaaay not on the list. It was just kind of plain tasting, I would definitely not order the pork again next time. Man, three tacos and guacamole = way too much food for me. It doesn’t look like a lot of food but boy, does it ever fill you up.

sfdfd

Tres Salsas

Top left is the pico de gallo, top right is the salsa picasa (spiciest salsa ever), and the green one is salsa verde. All delicious but I especially love the salsa picasa and its spiciness. Lather it in your taco with caution!

AÑEJO
#2, 2116 – 4 Street Southwest
Calgary, AB T2S 1W7
(587) 353-2656

Anejo Restaurant on Urbanspoon

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

