[Dine-Out] Seattle: Mashiko Seattle Sushi

Saving the best meal we had in Seattle for last: Our ridiculously delicious omakase. For a unbelievably reasonable price (everything compared to Calgary prices is a steal, HEY-OH), we were treated to, by far, the best food we had in Seattle.

We sat at the bar so we could watch the chefs hard at work.

Munchies

We got a lovely little bowl of Japanese Arare to snack on while we patiently waited for our sustainable sea-feast.

Gorgeous fish on display

We started off with some bundles of Pacific Smelt with Pickled Carrots & Daikon Sprouts:

Salty and Briny and Deliciouuuus

Gorgeous close up:

To Die For

More fish:

So many different types!

Scallop Sashimi with Yuzu Tobiko:

Cute presentation!

The yuzu tobiko added a nice hint of citrus to the melt-in-your-mouth scallops.

Next was Sake Poached Oysters Marinated in Olive Oil:

So Smooth…

This is probably tie for my favourite preparation for oysters. Obviously this takes a lot more skill than shucking a raw oyster. So I guess raw oysters are my favourite in terms of ease of preparation, but this, man, if I could eat this everyday, I would.

Black Alaskan Rockfish Sashimi with Ponzu and Shiso Oil:

First time having Black Rockfish, and let me tell you, it won’t be my last

Fresh Oregon Based Shrimp & Cherry Tomato Salad:

If only I could have a salad like this everyday, sigh…

This shrimp was unbelievably sweet. Like the sweetest (in a good way) shrimp I think I will ever have in my life. Don’t even know how that’s possible.

Poached Hawaiian Abaloni with Dried Kelp & Stomach:

Love the in shell presentation

First of all, I love abalone. And second of all, the inclusion of the stomach just made this dish that much more delicious. The kelp and the stomach gave the whole dish a very lovely seaweed-y, slightly bitter taste. Very complex flavours.

The bf and I were fighting over the stomach in the shell, believe it or not

Next, Local Albacore Tataki Salad:

Refreshing, but…

If I had to pick one, this was probably my least favourite of all the dishes. It was a very competently prepared dish, it just wasn’t nearly as exciting as the ones we’ve had leading up to it OR the ones we had following it.

Back to the exciting, White king Salmon Tartare with Avocado & Capers:

Love the little quail egg!

The quail egg acted as a nice binder and added a smoothness to the dish:

Delish

On to the SUSHI! (YAY)

From left to right, Giant Pacific Octopus, Northwest Albacore Toro, Yellow Fin Tuna:

A plate of friggin perfection

The Toro

Octo

This was the best octopus I have ever eaten. Anywhere. The stuff in Calgary just does not compare. I’ve never had octopus cooked this perfectly before, the meat wasn’t chewy, it was this nice tenderness that I did not think was possible with octopus. This probably ruined Octopus for me since I will probably never find a place in Calgary that will compare…

Yellowfin

Saba “Box” Sushi with House Marinated Ikura:

I <3 IKURA

Ikura is my favourite type of fish eggs, I love the burst of briny-ness in your mouth when you pop ‘em! Box Sushi is just a traditional form of sushi known to Osaka. The major different between Hakozushi and normal sushi is that all the ingredients used for the Hako are either cooked or brined. Saba = perfect Hakozushi ingredient.

Look at all its briny goodness…

Next course….came in the cutest serve-ware ever!

C00-coo (that’s the noise owls make, FYI)

Chawanmushi with Mushroom & Salmon:

I absolutely adore steamed egg

I wish more places in Calgary would put Chawanmushi on their menus…

Finally, we finished our ridiculous feast of a meal with Coconut Fried Brownie (from Bakery Nouveau) with Green Tea Ice Cream:

<3 the mint leaves

The brownies were a little heavy for me (keep in mind that I’m not a chocolate fan though), but the matcha ice-cream was deliciously bitter.

MASHIKO SEATTLE SUSHI
4725 California Southwest
Seattle WA 98116
(206) 935-4339

2 Responses

  1. Great write-up and pics. Looks fantastic. How much was it per person?

    • I think it was around $85/90 per person pre tax and gratuity~

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

