[Dine-Out] Calgary: Delicious Thai

I’ve been meaning to go the Delicious Thai for quite a while now. The place is easy to walk past & forget because it’s tucked inside a little nook along 10th Street in Kensington, or, more often than not, it’s covered by a bunch of “scene” kids or hipsters loitering around.

We started off our meal with a couple of coconut juices. Did you know that coconut water is considered nature’s Gatorade? That’s because it’s full of electrolytes! If it wasn’t so expensive, I’d definitely drink it everyday~

Coconut Juice

The bf got the “Lab Moo”. It’s a Thai Grounded Pork Spicy Salad. He got the highest spiciness level they offer, and it was much too spicy for me. I’m such a wimp.

“Lab Moo”

The salad is basically ground pork that has been mixed with hot and spicy dressing, roasted rice, mint, green onion, dry chili, and cilantro.

“Gaeng Kua Sup-Bpa-Rot” Pineapple Curry

I got the Beef Pineapple Curry. This was really good, the sweetness & tartness of the pineapple really helped cut through the spice. I prefer thicker curry though – like a Japanese style? That’s the way my mom would make curry at home, and I have a fondness of that rendition of curry. Actually, I think I just like thicker dishes generally. I think I only got the 2nd level of spiciness and it was still really spicy. I had to order some coconut rice on the side to help me temper the heat.

Cloooose Up!

This dish consists of your choice of protein (pork, beef, chicken, or shrimp) cooked in a spicy red curry paste with coconut milk, pineapple, red pepper, green paper, snow peas, and lime leaves.

Both dishes were very flavourful and authentic tasting. I wish they offered stir-fried phak bung (morning glory) though, I think that’s probably my favoriate Thai dish.

DELICIOUS THAI
314 10 Street Northwest
Calgary, AB T2N 1V8
(403) 450-1996

Delicious Thai Restaurant on Urbanspoon

4 Responses

  1. The salad is basically ground pork that has been mixed with hot and spicy dressing.

  2. [...] definitely would not recommend this place. Rose Garden Thai on Stephen Ave and Delicious Thai in Kensington is far, far, far better. Like, no competition, in quality AND price. But most [...]

  3. [...] got the Sticky Rice with Mango from Delicious Thai for 5 tickets. I can’t believe that was $5.00, the actual dessert at their restaurant is [...]

  4. Fantastic website. A good amount of useful information here.

    I am sending it to several buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thanks a lot in your effort!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

