[Dine-Out] Calgary: Tandoori Hut

I always order a Mango Lassi when I have Indian food. Mostly because I’m a wimp and need something cool to counter the spicy foods, but also because I <3 Mangos.

Mango Mango Mango!

The heating tray that keeps the proteins warm. Those are tealights underneath the cover:

Hot~

We ordered an order each of the Garlic Naan and the Allu Naan. The Allu Naan is stuffed with spicy potatoes. I thought I would really like the Allu since I love potatoes, but it was too mushy. I prefer the Garlic Naan to it.

Naan Breads

I got the Beef Curry. Tandoori cooks their curry with ginger, garlic, and spices. I enjoyed this dish, but I always regret not getting Butter Chicken after I’ve ordered, lol.

Boeuf

The beef curry was very good, it had a nice spiciness to it, but it wasn’t too hot that I couldn’t handle (with the aid of the lassi). They’re very generous with the protein, I got a lot of beef in every bite. When the dishes first came out, it seemed like very little food, but in the end, we had to get stuff packed up to go. The portion size seemed small, say, compared to Mango Shiva, but it really is a lot of food, and ¬†you’re only paying about 2/3 of what you would pay in Mango Shiva. So it all works out at the end.

And the bf got the Goat Vindaloo:

Goat

He got this dish because it seemed like the spiciest item on the menu. It’s a spicy curry made with coconut milk and crushed chilies. It was very hot, I could only have a little taste of it before it got to be too much for me. That’s all the wisdom I can impart on his item since I don’t like goat so we didn’t share our dishes ^___^”.

TANDOORI HUT
201 10 Street Northwest
Calgary, AB T2N 1V5
(403) 270-4012

Tandoori Hut on Urbanspoon

3 Responses

  1. [...] Food = Life reviews Tandoori Hut Elsie Hui reviews Milestones This Shts Delicious reviews Maru Korean Restaurant & Bar Anna’s Appetite reviews Muku Japanese Ramen Dan’s Good Side reviews Jelly Modern Doughnuts YYC’s Best Eats reviews Bookers BBQ Grill Happy Sushi Belly reviews Fuji Yama and Shikiji Chocolate & Ginger reviews Tilted Grill and Brasserie Kensington var addedComment = function(response) { //console.log('fbComments: Caught added comment'); //console.log('fbComments: Making AJAX call to update Facebook comment count'); $.post('http://calgaryfoodies.com/wp-content/plugins/facebook-comments-for-wordpress/facebook-comments-ajax.php&#039;, { fn: 'addComment', xid: '_post1276' }, function(resp) { if (resp === 'true') { //console.log('fbComments: Updated and cached Facebook comment count for post with xid=_post1276'); } else { //console.log('fbComments: FAILED to update Facebook comment count for post with xid=_post1276'); } }); //console.log('fbComments: Making AJAX call to send email notification'); $.post('http://calgaryfoodies.com/wp-content/plugins/facebook-comments-for-wordpress/facebook-comments-ajax.php&#039;, { fn: 'sendNotification', xid: '_post1276', postTitle: 'The Week In Food – June 24', postUrl: 'http://calgaryfoodies.com/the-week-in-food-june-24/&#039; }, function(resp) { if (resp === 'true') { //console.log('fbComments: Sent email notification'); } else { //console.log('fbComments: FAILED to send email notification'); } }); }; FB.Event.subscribe('comments.add', addedComment); [...]

  2. mmmmm!!! Looks good! I’ve been craving curry since I attended my best friends East Indian Wedding. Looks like another place that is going to land into my wish list!!

  3. Elsie – you should give Mango Shiva a try too! Their butter chicken is sooo good >O<

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

