[Quick Bite] Calgary: Bliss & Co. Cupcakes

I keep hearing about these pies from Bliss & Co. Cupcakes, and how they’re supposed to be fantastic, so, of course, I had to go get myself some. I love love love pies, actually I love love love the pastry crust, but you can’t just eat that by itself…so PIES!

We went to the location in Chinatown because of all the times I’ve walked by the Chinook Mall location, I never noticed them selling pies. So I figured, just to be safe, I better go to the main location. I’ve been avoiding Bliss Cupcakes in Chinatown for quite some time now. There’s just something icky about the location. You have to climb down a flight of stairs, and it’s not the nicest looking store front. Well, never judge a book by its cover I guess, because the interior wasn’t bad at all.

Anyways, we got 2 pies. They still had an old price list up that listed the pies as $3.00, but we were charged $3.50 – which is their new price because that’s what the menu on their website says. I think they should change the sign they have in store though, just so they’re not unintentionally deceiving their customers.

We got the Mango Peach and Caramel Apple:

Mango Peach!

I’m a fiend for Mangos, my name as a day-camps counselor was Mango for crying out loud. Despite all that – this pie was just okay; it was nothing compared to:

Caramel Apple~

Apple pie is such a classic. I don’t think there could be a better pie than an apple pie. Mmmm…soooo good! It would have been much better if it was warmed out though. We don’t have a microwave, and I wasn’t able to crank the oven on just for 2 small pies.

I have had their cupcakes before too, I can’t quite recall how they were compared to Crave, but it’s a cupcake, and it’s not store-bought, so it’s bound to be pretty good. I have personally decided that I’m going to start getting the mini ones from now on. That way I can try more flavours and have more icing per bite!! Ingenious.

BLISS & CO. CUPCAKES & DESSERTS
Unit 111 (Lower Level)
108 – 3 Ave Southwest
Calgary, AB
(403) 281-8821

Bliss & Co. Cupcakes and Desserts on Urbanspoon

One Response

  1. [...] is probably my favoriate Bakery in Calgary. It’s a basement level store like Bliss, but the atmosphere and the decor is very nice and it has a rustic feel to it. There’s also [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

