[Quick Bite] Calgary: Janice Beaton Fine Cheese

I read about the Janice Beaton Fine Cheese Grilled Cheese Bar and I just had to take the bf there. He loves his cheese!!

The sandwiches took quite a long time to make, we waited for almost 20 minutes? I think the FARM cooks has to make them, so we were competing with all the brunch diners for our food. I was entertained by being baffled at how much people spend on cheese. During the time we were waiting, there were probably 3 purchases of over $200.00, holy crap! I could never spend that much on cheese, but I’m not a cheese lover, so…I don’t know what I’m talking about!

The bf got the Whim of the Day sandwich, I wasn’t really paying attention, but it was filled with some stinky blue cheese. I was tricked into taking a bite (he told me it was goat cheese), and it was potent, waaaayyy to strong for a wussy cheese eater like me. He said it was delicious though, and gobbled up every last bit of cheese (even the little bits that fell onto the paper wrapper).

Whim of the Day!

I got the Ham and Cheese Please! Sandwich, it consists of Maple Pepper Ham,Gruyere,Greens,Mayonnaise, and a Sun Dried Tomato Tapenad. This is more up my alley, I like mild cheeses like Gruyere~

Ham and Cheese Please!

For $6.95, each sandwich comes with a little side of pickles and coleslaw. The pickles were yummy, and the coleslaw was just the way I like it – not creamy.

Baby Pickles!

The price is a little steep for the itty-bitty sandwich, the sandwich itself was probably only 4″ squared, and the¬†freshly baked ciabatta buns (from Sidewalk Citizen Bakery) are pretty thick. The bf loved it though, and he’s usually a stickler for crappy meat to bread ratio, I guess it’s worth it for the quality cheese! I liked mine too, but I guess I’m just not that big of a cheese lover, it was nothing special for me. But, it was delicious and it comes wrapped in butcher paper (how cute!).

JANICE BEATON FINE CHEESE
1017 – 16th Avenue SW
Calgary, AB T2R 0T5
(403) 229-0900

Janice Beaton Fine Cheese on Urbanspoon

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

